Colour palette & how to nail it for your wedding

We share with you today the wedding of Malen + Amy. This is a bright and fun wedding and we hope it takes your mind off what’s going on in the world at the moment! We particular LOVE the colour palette and the handmade touches these guys put together. You. can see both their personalities shine through with the colour palette choices. Enjoy the read!

Photography: Tanya Volt

Wedding Colour Palette

How did you guys meet?

Tinder! Lol.

What was the style of your wedding?

Fun, happy, colourful, and relaxed.

What inspired you to purchase Peggy and Finn products for your wedding day?

Malen loved the bright colours and fab designs, and the pink Banksia pattern worked so well with his green velvet jacket, as well as the rest of our colour palette! The bridesmaids wore pink and mustard/terracotta dresses, and we had been looking for something to match this weird colour combo – and finally we found the perfect ties! We both also love that the Banksia is an Australian flower – it really adds to the whole story.

Banksia Pink Bow Tie Colour Palette Goals

Any special comments on the Groom & Groomsmen attire?

We wanted the boys to be comfortable, casual, semi tied together, but still nice looking! They picked grey tweed jackets, and Malen wore a velvet green jacket by MJ Bale which couldn’t have been more perfect. The Peggy & Finn ties and bow tie worked really well to TIE (hah) all the colours together. The groomsmen wore the long ties, and Malen wore the bow tie – just in case you couldn’t tell which one the groom was haha!

Groomsmen

Tell us what was unique about your day?

A lot (if not most) of the elements at the event were made by hand – either by me or some rad supplier from in and around Melbourne. There were paper flowers in the bouquets and decorating the arbour as well as being wovem throughout the displays, pom poms in the bridal headpiece, individual pom pom badges for each guest (and each supplier involved on the day), a hanging streamer installation by Bangin Hangins (https://www.banginhangins.com.au/), signage, homemade wedding pies, the list goes on!

What was your favorite moment on your wedding day?
Walking down the aisle and seeing everyone I love in the same room in the same moment. Such bliss! And they were all looking so lovingly at us – it was just one big love fest!

Streamer Colour Palette

Words of wisdom, What advice would you give to other couples who are planning their wedding day?

It’s going to be A LOT but you can totally do it. Stick to your guns and don’t be put off by people’s panicked advice. And dream BIG!

Balloon Colour Palette

Tell us who was part of your tribe:

Ceremony venue / location: The Line, Footscray (https://www.theline.melbourne/)

Reception venue / location: The Line, Footscray
Big shout out Fourside Events too – they basically ran everything like a stand-in wedding planner. INCREDIBLE! (https://www.foursideevents.com.au/)

Celebrant/Officiant: Ryan Kennedy Creative Celebrant (https://ryankennedycelebrant.com/)

Photography: Tanya Volt (https://www.tanyavoltweddings.com/)

Styling:
Brooke Clarke Stylist (designer for Sugar Republic) (https://www.brookeclarke.com.au/portfolio)
Streamer installation by Bangin Hangins (https://www.banginhangins.com.au/)
Chairs by AHA Rustic Event Hire (https://www.aharusticeventhire.com.au/)
Other items by On Trend Event Hire (http://ontrendeventhire.com.au/)

Florist: me haha lol

Hair: Trish Sousa (http://www.trishsousa.com/)

Make Up: Madison Tippett (https://www.madisontippett.com/madisontippett)

The Dress(es): Twelve South Bridal (https://www.twelvesouthbridal.com.au/)

Veil / headwear: Handmade by me

Rings: Georgie Brooks (https://www.georgiebrooks.com/)

Bridesmaid’s dresses: Mister Zimi (https://misterzimi.com/)

Groomsmen’s suits:
MJ Bale for the groom (https://www.mjbale.com/)
Various brands for the boys

Bow ties / ties:
YOU GUYS!

Favors: Handmade pom pom badges

Stationery / Signage: Designed by me, printed by Stitch Press (http://www.stitchpress.com.au/) and Fast Printing (https://www.fastprinting.com.au/)

Entertainment: Triple R’s Fee B-Squared (https://www.rrr.org.au/explore/presenters/fee-b-squared)

Honeymoon: A cabin in the woods straight after the wedding (https://www.unyoked.co/), and then a trip to Tassie